‘Going out for a walk’ by Sir Henry Maxmilian Max Beerbohm is an article about walking included in the SCERT +1 textbook. Right now you must be thinking ‘Ugh a lesson in a textbook? Must be so boring!’ And you are definitely right about that! But still it isn’t a typical article that you come across everyday. Unlike every other article you see all the time, it does not go on praising the benefits of walking. Instead it describes how walking is bad for you. Beerbohm states this by describing – very convincingly – how walking stops the brain. He finds walking to be a completely unpleasant and tedious task and he states that he will never ever set out for a leisurely stroll unless it is for a cause. 

But here I would like to contradict Sir Beerbohm. Unlike his opinion, most people would agree that walking is good for us. It helps improve our health, keeps us in good shape and puts most of us in a pleasant mood after coming home from a stroll. But preferences in walking vary from person to person and according to one’s circumstances. If one lives in a smoky or squalor filled place, they will not be urged to take a walk amongst the dirt and smoke. But if one lives in a pleasant atmosphere, the urge to set out for a walk early in the morning to enjoy the cool breeze and the sweet melodies of the birds, is almost irresistible. 

I would like to say that walking is one of my hobbies. Or atleast its something that I do a lot… I usually walk everywhere I go, be it to school, or to the church, or to my keyboard lessons, or wherever else I may go. It helps me keep fit and I also enjoy walking very much. I like walking better when I’m with my friends or cousins. I find walking to be more fun and less tiring when I have someone to talk to.

But I would like to agree with Sir Beerbohm on one thing. Being taken out for a walk is definitely a very unpleasant and boring situation to be in. I would like to state that going out for a walk and being taken out for a walk are two completely different things. When we voluntarily and willingly go out on walks, we acquire peace of mind. Our mind is refreshed and our body is energised. But being forced to take a walk entirely for someone else’s pleasure or just because we have no other way, causes the exact opposite impact. We may lose what little peace we have, we may grow frustrated and feel as if we cannot go on a step further. But even though these situations are in drastic contrast of each other, there is no denying that walking is indeed very good for us – our body, mind and soul alike. So I would encourage each and everyone of you to enjoy walks and to explore the pleasures life grants us through those small strolls into the world. 

Leave a Reply

