Is it too late to post this? *frantically running around trying to convince people it isn’t* Well anyway I wanted to post earlier but I couldn’t due to heaps of school work… Board exams are coming in March and it’s the last minute rush for doing everything at school so I never get time to write😭 

Moving on… Here are the top 5 books that I read in 2016!

  • Rumour has it – Jill Mansell


A sweet love story about a girl falling for the town’s playboy, this book managed to capture my heart. The falling-for-the-player thing may seem a common plot but this book was funny, sweet, romantic and heartbreaking at all the right places. It’s very beautiful and this book has a way of making the overused and common plotline into something interesting and heart warming. 

  • Take a chance on me – Jill Mansell

By the same author as Rumour Has It this book is also another sweet love story. Cleo Quinn is looking for her Mr.Right but can’t seem to find him anywhere. But when she starts to fall for her old high school bully she doesn’t want to hope. Again a common plot made into something beautiful by Jill Mansell. I loved Cleo’s character and I would have loved to meet someone like that in real life. Jill Mansell has a way of turning the story around in the final few pages and making sure it stays with the readers. 

  • The Maze Runner Series – James Dashner


I read all the books except The Fever Code in one go and I loved it. I happen to love The Hunger Games and the Divergent series, so its no wonder that I liked these too. A captivating and adventurous story set in a post apocalyptic world, with a hooking plot.

  • Rachel’s Holiday – Marian Keyes

Rachel Walsh doesn’t have a problem with drugs. She’s completely in control (or so she thinks) and is shocked when she’s put into rehab by her family and friends. Rachel is in no way a perfect character. She has flaws just like any human and that is what makes the story even better. When I read the book I felt her emotions, I believed what she believed even when I knew it wasn’t the truth and that is a rare quality in a book. The book literally made me cry with the character’s grief and in a second those same tears changed into ones of joy. Another book that’s turned completely around in the final few pages, I haven’t felt so satisfied after finishing a book in a long time. 

  • Paper Towns – John Green

Another one of John Green’s heartbreaking and brilliant books, Paper Towns is a story that will stick with the readers for a long time. A story in which Quentin ‘Q’ Jacobsen embarks on a journey with his friends to find Margo Roth Spiegelman, his childhood crush, who is missing but has left them a breadcrumb trail to follow. The book shows the transformation of the characters from teens to adults and how they accept that life is not easy. But it isn’t written in an overly serious way. Its funny and serious exactly where it’s supposed to be. It doesn’t have a perfect ending and neither does life which is exactly the point the author wants to convey. The only disappointment was that the characters are almost exactly the same in Paper Towns and Looking For Alaska… But other than that an almost perfect book!

And so that’s it! Have you read any of these books? Did you like it as much as I did? I would love to know!

Untill next time!

~Sithara⭐

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Books I Read In 2016

Leave a Reply

